Almost Daily Blog

Let’s Tattoo ’bout It!

Finally, something I have been planning and mulling about happened today and I’m over the moon about it. I got inked!

I wanted to get a phoenix tattoo ten years ago when things fell apart and the Phoenix is my favourite mythological bird. Somehow time and me couldn’t sync and I never got around to doing it. However, the research never stopped and my tattoo list kept increasing.

A couple of months ago I saw a signboard of a Tattoo Artist with an arrow pointing to my street… now if that wasn’t a “sign” I don’t know what was. And so the planning got more intense. I went through scores of designs to find the perfect one. I knew I wanted a subtle outline tattoo on my forearm.

I made that call. I set an appointment and I was all ready to get inked. That date didn’t work out. I had to cancel. I made another appointment and decided to stick to it no matter what came up.

Today was the day. I told myself that if another obstacle came up then this wasn’t meant to be. I woke up to a message rescheduling the appointment. My heart sank. After a short discussion we worked out a time that suited us both and I got my beloved tattoo.

I had narrowed my choices down to two and I liked them both equally. I couldn’t get two tattoos. I worked with the artist and combined both the designs and came up with a unique design that had all the elements I had planned.

Surprisingly, I wasn’t nervous. This was my first tattoo and I was excited. Now, if you’ve known me long enough you know that I used to have a fear of needles. That was only because the needles were thick when I was a kid and the injections were humongous. Now the needles are incredibly fine and getting an injection is not painful at all. I even had an epidural that wasn’t painful and those hurt like crazy! I was thrilled to get this done.

All I can say is that getting a tattoo is less painful than threading. Ugh! I’d rather get ten tattoos than endure those few minutes of threading. It isn’t as scary as people claim it is but it all depends on your ability to handle physical pain. I have an abnormally high threshold for tolerating pain. Allow me to elaborate, I never take painkillers post surgery. I was calm when I met with an accident and dislocated and fractured my ankle. I can handle pain.

I got my tattoo done at Diggy’s Tattoo Studio and I was impressed at the quality of work. The artwork took about ten to fifteen minutes because the designs I had in mind didn’t seem to work out. After playing around, mixing and matching, we managed to combine two tattoos.

The studio is clean. The work is good. I am thrilled about my tattoo. I had booked my appointment a month in advance and kept reminding Diggy about my appointment. I sent him sample designs. One can make an appointment twenty-four hours prior to the desired date but I like to plan ahead. This way I know I have to allot a particular time for a particular task and quite honestly, I hate shifting and shunting my schedule. While I am not a stickler to routine, I do not like disruptions. I like knowing how my day is going to pan for the most part, at least work wise. I like winging it after work.

I highly recommend Diggy’s Tattoo Studio for tattoo work. I’m a sucker for convenience and Diggy’s Tattoo Studio is around the corner from me. Here’s to more tattoos when time and I can sync.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Let’s Tattoo ’bout It!

Leave a comment