Inspirational

30 Days Of Gratitude – Day 3 – My Favourite Part Of The Morning

Day 3 of my gratitude posts. This is a little tough…

My Favourite Part Of The Morning? When it’s over!

Morning person

Something like that.

 

If you know me well then you’ll know I am not a morning person, I never was and I probably never will be. The only times I wake up early with an overdose of enthusiasm is when I have to get to the pool. I love starting my day with an hour or two of swimming. On those days I am up before the alarm clock goes off. Equipped with a strong, sweet mug of coffee, I get to watch the sunrise. I pack my swim bag and head to the pool.

There’s nothing better than a swim especially in the summer. One hour in the pool and I rush home to check my tan lines. When I was in school I would measure the happiness level of the holidays by the level of tan. A deep tan meant an excellent summer. I would return to school looking like a piece of burnt toast. I loved that colour.

I wake up close to midday when there’s no work to do and no deadlines to meet. On hectic days, I make sure the dogs are walked by 7 a.m. and I am all coffeed up for the day. One needs fortification if one is not a morning person.

I’ve always been a “night owl” as mom would call me. I was allowed to sleep as long as I wanted to because mom knew I was either reading or writing into the wee hours of the morning.

I don’t even feel human during the day unless I’ve had coffee. I simply hate waking up feeling unslept. I’m on edge right through the day.

I have to admit that some of the most magical mornings have been at the beach, indulging in an open water swim and watching the sunrise while treading water. These are probably the only times I have loved mornings. An early morning open water swim is one of the best things I have ever experienced. When the tide’s coming in, there are almost always dolphins swimming towards shore. I did get lucky to swim alongside a pod out in the deep.

Catch me on a Sunday and I don’t want to get out of bed at all. I take that day of rest quite seriously and spend the entire day sleeping.

 

Not a morning person

Mostly mornings – I hate them!

I work late nights. I find that my concentration levels are much higher then. I write more than I do during the day. I focus without any difficulty. The main thing is that there are no distractions. The dogs are constantly hyper for most part of the day, there’s a lot of noise in the neighbourhood, the fish vendors do their rounds, the rag pickers, garbage collectors, neighbours calling for help, street dogs fighting. I can’t do mornings. I avoid mornings as much as possible.

Standard

Leave a comment